Convert a netmon capture to CSV for data analysis

I find myself using Power Query all the time now when I need visualize the flow of bytes between hosts. I have been using copy/paste to get the data (time stamp and tcp payloadlength) but this doesn’t work when you have a lot of packets. What you really need is a CSV version of your netmon capture to be the source of your Power Query.

I found that tshark can convert a cap file to a csv nicely. I use this cmd.

“C:\Program Files\Wireshark\tshark.exe” -r “in.cap” -T fields -E separator=, -e frame.time -e ip.src -e ip.dst -e tcp.srcport -e tcp.dstport -e tcp.len > “out.csv”

I then bring that into Power Query and plot using PowerPivot as describe in my earlier post. I end with a chart like the one below and using slicer I can easily look at the data in different ways.

 

BytePerSec_PQ

Leave a Reply

